Skip to content

Sunday Sweetness: Blueberry Zucchini Bread

July 17, 2011

It seems like all I ever read anymore is about the amount of sugar in foods and the adverse affects on our health.

So when I ran across a recipe for blueberry zucchini bread on allrecipes.com, I was immediately intrigued and then quickly wondered why a bread recipe needs to have 2 1/2 cups of sugar in it.

My husband, who really is the baker in the family, tells me that it’s because it’s a baked goods.  Most baked goods have that kind of sugar in them.

*jaw drop*

(Of course, he also mentioned that those Dunkin Donuts iced coffees that I ask for with extra cream and extra sugar probably have those same amount in a small.  Thanks, John.)

But I decided to get a little creative.

Sugar ain’t the only way to get a little sweetness, baby!

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:

3 eggs

1 cup vegetable oil (I used Smart Balance oil.)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup white sugar

2 cups shredded zucchini

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

2 tablespoon cinnamon and sugar

1 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup skim milk

Directions:

Honestly, I could lie to you and tell you that I folded in the blueberries and I mixed all the dry ingredients first and did everything perfectly.

Ha!

I dumped it all in the kitchen aid mixer, saving the blueberries for last so the bread didn’t turn out purple.

Bake for 50 – 55 minutes.  It made one large bread and 2 mini loaves as well.

And it’s not sugary sweet, but just that right amount of sweetness.

This post is linked to Mangia Monday at Delightfully Dowling, It’s a Keeper! and This Chick Cooks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

