Skip to content

Breakfast For Dinner: Bacon and Brown Sugar Waffles

July 4, 2011

I love bacon.  I also love breakfast for dinner.  I have no idea why but I think it’s the fact that it’s almost as if it’s forbidden, like you’re getting away with something that you shouldn’t do.  A foreign meal in the everyday.

And yet, it’s just breakfast.

They’re just waffles.

But they’re tasty waffles.  Filled with bacon and brown sugar.  Who can resist a temptation like that?

Certainly not me.  I have little willpower where bacon is concerned.  I’ve often told my husband that I could go vegetarian if not for my love of bacon.  He could probably go vegetarian if it wasn’t for his love of meats.

And Brenna loves waffles.  Almost as much as she loves pancakes.

So let’s see. I love bacon.  John loves bacon.  Brenna loves waffles.  It’s all coming together now…

Bacon and Brown Sugar Waffles

Ingredients:

6 slices bacon

1/8 cup brown sugar

1 cup pancake mix (I used Bob’s Red Mill 7 Grain.)

Directions:

1. Preheat an oven to 400 degrees F. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Arrange the bacon slices  on baking sheet and sprinkle with about half of the brown sugar. Bake until the bacon is crispy and the brown sugar is caramelized, about 10 minutes total, flipping the bacon halfway through. Immediately remove the bacon to a cutting board; cut/crumble into small pieces and set aside.

2. Preheat a waffle iron and grease with cooking spray.

3. Prepare the pancake mix and then add the bacon and stir gently, being careful to just mix it.

4. Ladle the batter into the preheated waffle iron and cook until golden brown; serve hot.

Inspired by Brown Sugar Bacon Waffles. This post is linked to Mangia Mondays and A Southern Fairytale.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 3:46 am

    This really looks delish and something I want to try out seriously. You have a great blog and your food photos left me drooling! Thanks for the friendship add at TK!
    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.com

  2. July 10, 2011 7:54 pm

    So glad you like it – thanks for the compliments!

Leave a Reply

