Skip to content

When Your Garden Grows, Make Raspberry Banana Nut Bread

June 27, 2011

Let me let you in on a little secret.

I hate bananas.

Can’t stand them.  They’re mushy and their texture just grosses me out.

But…

I love banana bread.  I know, it’s weird, but it’s just one of those little known facts about me that I feel compelled to share.

My mom has always made delicious banana bread.  It’s a simple recipe, but sometimes that’s the key to making something fantastic.  Tonight, however, I decided to make a few changes to the recipe, mostly by adding some of the raspberries still rearing their tasty little heads in my garden. (They’re everywhere!)

Plus, I had some pecans so I decided to toss those in there as well.  All in all, I have to say that this is delicious.  A little bit tart and well balanced by the sweetness of the bananas.  The crunch of the pecans made me wonder why I don’t include nuts in banana bread more often.  Tasty!

Raspberry Banana Nut Bread

Ingredients

½ cup Shortening

2 cups Flour

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 cup mashed Bananas (See Note)

¾ cup Sugar

1 tsp Salt

1 Egg

1 tsp Lemon Juice

1 cup raspberries

1/4 cup chopped pecans

Directions

Mix all ingredients. Bake at 350F for 55 minutes.

Note: I’ve never actually made a banana bread using ripe bananas.  Another trick my mother taught me is to take bananas once they go brown and stick them into the freezer to use later in breads. Great use of fruit past its prime.  And delicious!

This post is linked to Just Another Meatless Monday at Hey What’s For Dinner Mom and A Southern Fairytale and This Chick Cooks and Sweet as Sugar Cookies.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 8:42 pm

    What a delicious looking bread. I love banana bread, but I’ve never tried it with raspberries. I am really interested in trying this. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
    Katie

  2. June 30, 2011 9:33 pm

    I also love banana bread and love the idea of adding raspberries. What a treat! Thanks for the idea!

  3. July 1, 2011 6:32 pm

    Thanks! I hope you like it!

  4. July 4, 2011 2:07 am

    Mmm, I could go for a piece of that bread. The raspberries must add delicious little pops of flavor in every bite. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till tomorrow night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your breads up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/07/sweets-for-saturday-23.html

Leave a Reply

