Skip to content

Celebrity Impersonations: Bobby Flay’s Roasted Vegetable Meatloaf

June 23, 2011

John ran across this recipe one day on the internet and we decided that it had to go on the to-do list.

And it has – three times. Yum.

We’ve loved it every single time!  Well, I will admit that I burnt it a little bit the first time so it probably wasn’t love at first sight.  But the taste inside was still good!  And I’ve gotten better over time about not making the same mistakes.

It’s not quick.

It’s not incredibly easy.

It’s absolutely worth it.

Don’t be fooled.  I’m not Bobby Flay.  I got the Irish and the freckles, but that’s about close as an impersonation as I can get.  But I can follow his recipe!

The prep time on the recipe says 20 minutes  – I would say closer to 40 unless you happen to be Bobby Flay himself or someone who can chop and mince with incredible skill and speed.

I am not one of those people.

This time I shredded a lot of the zucchini to try and save time.  Not actually sure that idea worked but added to the flavor of the dish.

Here’s the original recipe.

Here’s what I did.

Bobby Flay’s Roasted Vegetable Meatloaf – Heidi’s Version

Ingredients

  • 2 medium zucchini, shredded
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 medium red bell pepper, finely diced
  • 5 spring onions, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, divided
  • Sea salt
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 pounds meatloaf mix (on sale – woot!)
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
Directions
 
1. Preheat oven to 425F.
2. Heat the oil in a large pan over medium-heat heat.  Add the zucchini, peppers, onion, garlic, red pepper flakes, and salt, to taste, and cook until softened, or about 5 minutes. Then set aside.
3. Add the meat, eggs, cheese, and bread crumbs to a very large bowl.  Mix well with your hands until it could form a large ball, basically.
4.  Bobby Flay prefers free-form.  We like to occasionally pretend that we’re Bobby Flay.  Feel free to make life easy on yourself and ignore making a free-form meatloaf. Place the meatloaf on a cookie sheet covered in cooking spray, and place in the oven for 1 to 1 1/4 hours.
 
This is so good!  We had leftovers for days and thoroughly enjoyed them.  I may not be Bobby Flay, but I still love his meatloaf recipe!
 
This post is linked to Delightfully Dowling’s Mangia Monday and Make Ahead Meal for Busy Moms‘ Melt in Your Mouth Monday.
One Comment leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 11:44 am

    I made this a few years ago and it was delicious. I think I skipped his topping, which had maybe some balsamic in it? I went with a basic ketchup topping. It was a lot of work but it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

