Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Zucchini Grinders

June 20, 2011

I’ve been trying to get my family to go a little more meatless for years, sometimes with great success and other times it’s been a miserable failure. I’ve discovered along the way that I love kale, John hates wilted greens, and that instant polenta will never enter our household again.

Ever.

But sometimes you hit a recipe that, upon one bite, you realize that this one is a keeper.  And it’s too delicious not to share with the world!

Zucchini Grinders

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 – 3 medium zucchini, cubed

1 small onion, chopped

1 pinch red pepper flakes

1 cup marinara sauce

1 cup shredded mozzarella or provolone cheese

4 (6 inch) French or Italian sandwich rolls, split

Note: You can substitute a 1/2 can of petite diced tomatoes for the marinara sauce.   Still tasty!

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Pour oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onion, zucchini, and garlic and cook until slightly tender. Season with red pepper flakes.

3. Lay out a square of foil large enough to wrap up one of the sub rolls. Spoon the zucchini mixture into each roll until full. Spread a layer of marinara sauce (or diced tomatoes) onto the zucchini mixture. Top with a handful of shredded mozzarella. Close the rolls in foil, making sure that they’re completely closed.

4. Bake for 15 minutes in the preheated oven, until bread is heated through, and cheese is melted.

You can also choose not to bake the sandwiches and just eat the zucchini mixture.  While tasty, I really prefer the crunch of the warm, toasty bread with the piping hot cheese, tomato, and zucchini mixture.

This is a favorite dish in our house and has been for years.  I found a recipe one year when I was in desperate need of something to do with all the zucchini my garden decided to produce.  And while the original recipe was tasty, I made a lot of changes to suit my family’s taste buds.  Don’t get scared off by the fact that it’s meatless because it’s incredibly filling and it’s one of the dishes my husband actually requests that I make.  You can typically make 4 – 6 sandwiches so there’s plenty for everyone!

This recipe is also available on Meatless Monday linkups at Hey What’s for Dinner Mom and Midnight Maniac.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. lynn302 permalink
    July 4, 2011 10:42 am

    I get disappointed with the flavor and texture of processed meats so it was a real treat finding this recipe. I can hardly wait to try it! 🙂

  2. Heidi permalink
    July 4, 2011 12:01 pm

    Enjoy! Let me know what you think!

  3. Lynn Jacobs permalink
    July 5, 2011 9:59 pm

    I LOVED IT!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I topped mine with some halved cherry tomatoes before wrapping/baking. It was surprisingly tasty, filling, and didn’t make me feel bloated at all! This is my new fave sandwich! 😀

  4. July 6, 2011 3:57 pm

    I’ve been making it for years and we really love it. My meat loving husband actually requests this dish! So glad you liked it.

  5. January 11, 2013 6:45 am

    “Meatless Monday: Zucchini Grinders spoonfuloflaughter” was in fact a very good article.
    If perhaps it had alot more images this would probably
    be possibly even far better. All the best -Anton

  6. July 18, 2013 1:41 pm

    Wonderful, what a webpage it is! This website gives valuable data to us, keep it up.

  7. July 21, 2013 5:45 am

    Hi, all is going sound here and ofcourse every one is sharing
    data, that’s truly excellent, keep up writing.

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Inspiration: Kitchen Disaster Edition « spoonfuloflaughter

Leave a Reply

