Skip to content

Summer Burger Bash: Buffalo Chickpea Burgers

June 16, 2011

I learned two things today:

1. Chickpeas make a tasty burger.

2. If you put enough buffalo sauce on anything, my husband will eat it. (I had suspected this, but to actually have it confirmed was a victory in itself.)

I had run across a recipe for buffalo chickpea patties awhile ago and decided that it was something that had to appear on my meal rotation.  I put it off for a little while, thinking it would be too much work and letting that seed of doubt creep in that no one would like it and I’d end up having to throw out an hour’s worth of work.

Been there, done that.

This dish, however, finally made it to the family dinner table last night and I have to say that it will be back.  The chickpeas were nice and toasty, the buffalo sauce was hot and tangy, and overall it was a very satisfying meal.  Even John said that he’d eat it again!

Victory.

I’m choosing to ignore the fact that he said that he’d make faces about it the next time too.

Small victories.

Buffalo Chickpea Burgers

Adapted from Debbie Does Dinner.

Ingredients:

1 – 15 oz. can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
7 Saltine crackers, crushed
1/2 cup buffalo sauce
1 egg
1/2 small onion

½ cup cheddar cheese
1 tsp. garlic powder
Salt and pepper

Hamburger Rolls

Directions:

1. In a bowl or on a small plate, mash the chickpeas using a fork or potato masher.  Make sure to mash them well – my husband didn’t like the chunks of chickpeas.

2. Add the remainder of ingredients and mix well.

3. Heat a skillet to medium heat.  Form 4 – 6 patties and place in skillet.  Cook for about 6 minutes per side, until crispy and golden brown.

Note: One thing the original recipe did that I might try next time is to grate the onion. I choose to chop finely instead. Well, relatively fine. Chopping and I have issues.

According to John, these don’t make the best leftovers so be sure to eat them all when they’re still hot and tasty!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

