Skip to content

A Little Bit of Bok Choy

June 11, 2011

Before yesterday, I’d never had bok choy. It’s one of those foods that just doesn’t often make it to the grocery store, much less into my cart.

But I stumbled on organic bok choy at a farmer’s market last weekend and I couldn’t resist. It looks so fresh and green and I just had to try it!

The problem was talking John into it. Oh, he didn’t mind he buying it but I don’t think he had any intention of actually eating it. So I did the only thing that I could.

I added bacon to it.

What doesn’t taste better with bacon? And then I added beer. No man could resist.

Bok Choy with Bacon

Ingredients:

4 slices bacon, chopped
1 bunch bok choy
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 small red onion, chopped finely
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon minced garlic
1/8 – 1/4 cup beer (I used Corona.)
1 cup Mexican blend cheese
Pinch of sea salt

Directions:

1. Fry bacon in a large skillet over medium heat until mostly crispy. Meanwhile, chop the bok choy.

2. Add the olive oil, onion, red pepper flakes, salt, and garlic. Continue to cook and stir over medium heat until the onions have started to soften.

3. Remove the 4 pieces of bacon from the pan and chop into bite-sized pieces before placing back in the pan. Add the bok choy and beer, stirring well, and cover the pan. Let cook for 3 minutes.

5. Remove the lid, add the cheese, and then serve hot. Delicious!

I absolutely loved this dish and ate every single bite. The salt and crunch of the bacon paired perfectly with the gooey cheese, hint of beer, and the mild flavor of the bok choy.  John, however, picked the bacon out after he reminded me of his hatred of all even slightly wilted vegetables.  Second helping for Heidi.  Yum.

Already hungering for more. Must find more bok choy!

And beer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

