Skip to content

Stay Out of the Kitchen: Slow Cooker Chicken Caesar Salads

July 22, 2011

One of my favorite dishes is Chicken Caesar Salad.  I will literally just crave it sometimes, until I’ve eaten my way through every Caesar Salad and Caesar Wrap within a 5 miles radius of my office

But I’ve never attempted my own Caesar dressing.  Partly because I find it intimidating and partly because I’ve already found an amazing Caesar dressing that John and I love.

So why mess with perfection?

In the past when I’ve made Caesar salads, it usually involves those Perdue Chicken Shortcuts and we all walk away feeling a little disappointed in the meal.  You know, that sense of it’s good, but it really could have been better?

This is better. Much better.

And this is just as easy.  Actually, it’s so easy it shouldn’t even be called a recipe.  But I will. :)

Slow Cooker Chicken Caesar Salads

Ingredients:

3 – 4 chicken breasts (I got about 3 salads worth out of this.)

1 cup Caesar dressing of choice. (Ken’s.  Yum!)

1 cup of water or chicken broth

2 small heads of Romaine

Parmesan cheese, croutons, other assorted toppings

Directions:

1. Place chicken breasts in 4-quart slow cooker.  They can be frozen or partially thawed and even if you use more chicken, they should fit in a crockpot this size.  But if you only have a larger one, feel free to use that too.

2. Add water/chicken broth and caesar dressing to the slow cooker.  Set to low heat for 6 – 8 hours.  I used 8 hours since I was at work all day while these cooked themselves into my dinner. :)

3. After the chicken is finished in the slow cooker, shred it using a fork.  It should easily come apart.  Chop up the romaine lettuce and add the chicken.  Parmesan cheese, croutons, and even a little more Caesar dressing can be added to the top along with anything else you can think of. 

The beauty of these is that they’re incredibly easy and you can have salads, wraps, or even add all the above to pasta and make some Chicken Caesar Pasta. It’s a great summertime meal because there’s little time in the kitchen and no oven!

And with temperatures climbing right now above 100, the oven and I have called a hiatus to our relationship.  Bring on the Caesar salads!

Linked to Mangia Monday.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. judie lambert permalink
    October 2, 2012 12:56 pm

    Are the chicken breasts boneless?

  2. November 17, 2012 1:44 am

    If it is too thin, either transfer it to a pan on the stove to get a higher heat or add some flour or cornstarch dissolved in water.
    Add all ingredients into blender. 1 tbsp Splenda.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

