Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Kale & Chickpea Stirfry

July 18, 2011

This is absolutely one of my favorite dishes.  And yet, it’s also the one that inspires the most comments when I tell people what it is.

I hate kale, they tell me.

I hate chickpeas, they tell me.

It’s delicious!  I repeat.

And yet, I still get the looks of disbelief.

So, you can either turn away right now knowing that this is basically kale and chickpeas and a few savory extras, or you can continue reading and realize that this recipe is one of the most delicious and amazing dishes that I have ever made.  And will continue to make because it’s ridiculously good.  You will too.

Let’s see – easy, vegetarian, and quick.  Sign me up!

Chickpea & Kale Stirfry

Ingredients:

1 15-oz. can of chickpeas (or garbanzo beans), drained

1 bunch kale, torn and stems removed

Lemon Juice

Crushed Red Pepper, Hots, or Sriracha, your choice.

Olive Oil

Garlic Powder

Directions:

1. In a large pan, heat the olive oil to medium heat.  This is usually where I add the garlic powder.  I add quite a bit but it’s really up to your taste buds.

2. Once the olive oil has reached the proper temperature, add the chickpeas and saute until the chickpeas turn golden and crusty, usually about 8-10 minutes.  

3. Add the red pepper, sriracha, or hots and mix well. A friend of mine leaves this step out and says that it’s still delicious.  I prefer a little heat but if you like life a little less hot, just omit this step.

4. Add the kale and saute until still crisp but beginning to wilt. Remove from the heat and add the lemon juice and mix well. Season with sea salt. 

I have made this entree the night before bringing it into work and I would recommend heating before serving.  It’s definitely best warm, but I would eat it cold!

Then again, I’m the girl with an I Love Kale bumper sticker.  Notice how I saved that gem for last? :)

Adapted from Chickpea and Kale Stirfry. Linked to Midnight Maniac’s Meatless Monday and This Chick Cooks.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    July 18, 2011 1:34 pm

    Well, despite what other people might think, this looks great to me! I LOVE kale! I love chickpeas! I’m not sure why combining them never occurred to me before, but now that I’ve seen this, you can bet I’ll be copying this dish very soon :D

    • July 19, 2011 11:13 am

      It’s really good! I’ve made this dish at least 10 times and I’ve loved it every time. I’ve tried it with a little parmesan cheese on there too and that’s good if you’re in the mood for it.

      Hope you like it!

  2. July 20, 2011 12:08 pm

    I love both of these ingredients and your recipe looks perfect. I might add a few grilled red peppers, but then I’m a sucker for them even before they show up at farmers’ markets here.

    • July 20, 2011 2:02 pm

      Some grilled or roasted red peppers would be tasty as well. A little more crunch and a little more color. Great idea!

  3. April 16, 2013 6:02 pm

    I love kale, and I had a bag I needed to use, so I googled and found this. OMG I am going to make this all the time, never enough heat though :) thank you!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

