Skip to content

Celebrity Impersonations: Rachael Ray’s Spinach, Artichoke, and Tuna Ravioli Salad

July 14, 2011

I still haven’t decided if I quite like Rachael Ray’s recipes.  I watch her.  I read her cookbooks.  I enjoy her magazine.

Everything sounds good when she cooks it.  Looks easy and makes me think – I could do that.

Ummm, probably not.

But that’s okay.  I’ll stick to trying out her recipes in the hopes that something delicious will amaze my tastebuds and have me slathering for me.

This recipe didn’t quite do that, but it was pretty simple, pretty tasty, and I’d make it again.  That’s three checks in my book.

I was flipping through a recent edition of her magazine last night and came across this recipe. My first thought?  Sounds delicious.  My second thought?  I could do that for dinner tomorrow night.  Seems easy enough.

There were three strikes against me though:

1. The Tortellini. Of course, the tortellini was buried inside my freezer and I simply wasn’t in the mood to dig in, pull everything out, organize and put it all back in, when I could just grab the spinach and cheese ravioli on top and make it with that instead.

2. The Line Caught Tuna.  Yeah.  Not gonna happen.  But I had canned tuna!  Close enough.

3. No fresh thyme or shallots.  Hmmm.  But I had dried thyme and onion.  Again, close enough.

I am not a celebrity chef.  I do not believe I will ever be a celebrity chef.  But I do like cooking their dishes sometimes. :)

Rachael Ray’s Spinach, Artichoke, and Tuna Ravioli Salad

Ingredients

2 tbsp oil (I use Smart Balance.)

1 10-oz. box frozen chopped spinach

1 pound cheese and/or spinach ravioli

2 6-oz. cans tuna

1 14-oz. can of artichokes

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1/2 medium onion, chopped

Dried Thyme

Directions

1. Defrost the spinach in the microwave.

2. Meanwhile, cook the ravioli according to package directions.

3. In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium heat.  Add the garlic and onion and cook, stirring occasionally, for 2 minutes.  Add the artichokes and spinach and continue to cook for 3 – 5 minutes.

4.  In a large bowl, place the tuna and ravioli.  Add the thyme as well as the spinach and artichoke mixture and mix thoroughly. 

Feel free to dress with lemon juice. Or a little Caesar dressing.  We have an addiction to Ken’s caesar dressing and I bet it’s spectacular with this dish!

All in all, a good, quick, and nutritious weekday meal that I threw together pretty quickly and everybody liked.  Definitely will remember this one for those nights where I just have no idea what to make.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 4:10 am

    I absolutely love this new cookbook! I am always looking for cookbooks with plenty of pictures and this one is perfect. For those who second guess if they are doing all of the steps correctly, this book is amazing, the step by step pictures are wonderful. Rachael Ray has done it right for the average cooks who need more than a confusing recipe. Why can’t all cookbooks be this fun?

    • August 13, 2011 1:23 pm

      Hers are one of the few cookbooks that I actually enjoy looking through. I love her magazine as well. Have you checked that out?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

